Additive and multiplicative notation of a binary operation in a group, examples

The most common notations of a binary operation in a group are additive: + and multiplicative: •.

Additive notation of a binary operation

If in a group Group designation the binary operation binary operation in group is an addition operation, then this group is called an additive one and is denoted as Additive group designation.

Examples of additive groups

  1. Any ring or field is a group with an addition operation (the addition operation is taken from the ring) and is called an additive group of the ring or field.
    Consider examples of additive groups:
    • Additive group of integers - is the additive group of the ring of integers. The set of integers The set of integers is commutative associative ring with 1 with the familiar addition and multiplication operations.
    • Additive group of real numbers - is the additive group of the field of real numbers. The set of real numbers The set of real numbers is a field with the familiar operations of addition and multiplication of real numbers.
    • Additive group of complex numbers - is the additive group of the field of complex numbers. The set of complex numbers The set of complex numbers is a field with the familiar operations of addition and multiplication of complex numbers.
    • Additive group of rational numbers - is the additive group of the field of rational numbers. The set of rational numbers The set of rational numbers is a field with the familiar operations of addition and multiplication of fractions.
  2. Additive group of all geometric vectors in space - is the additive group of all geometric vectors in space.

Multiplicative notation of a binary operation

If in a group Group notation the binary operation binary operation in group is an multiplicative operation, then this group is called a multiplicative one and is denoted as Multiplicative group notation.

Note

There are also multiplicative groups of rings or fields. To consider examples of such groups, first consider the definitions of some terms.

Definition of an inverse element in a ring. Let Associative ring with 1 - is an associative ring with 1, then the element Invertible element of an associative ring with 1 is called invertible, if there is an element Inverse element b to element a such, that: definition of the inverse element , and b = a−1.

Notation. The set of all invertible elements of a ring Associative ring with 1 is denoted as The set of all invertible elements of a ring.

Corollary. In the A field , all elements except 0 are invertible elements. That is The set of all invertible elements of a field.

Examples of multiplicative groups

  1. The set of all elements except 0 (the identity element for addition) of the field field is a group with a multiplication operation (the multiplication operation is taken from the field). This group is called the multiplicative group of the field and is denoted as The multiplicative group of the field.
    Consider the examples of multiplicative groups of fields:
    • Multiplicative group of a field of real numbers - is the multiplicative group of the field of real numbers.
    • Multiplicative group of a field of complex numbers - is the multiplicative group of the field of complex numbers.
    • Multiplicative group of a field of rational numbers - is the multiplicative group of the field of rational numbers.
  2. The set of all invertible elements of an associative ring with 1 - Associative ring with 1 is the group with a multiplication operation (the multiplication operation is taken from the ring). This group is called the multiplicative group of the ring and is denoted by The multiplicative group of the ring.
    Consider the examples of multiplicative groups of rings:
    • Multiplicative group of the ring of integers - is the multiplicative group of the ring of integers. Note that in a ring of integers, only the numbers 1 and -1 are invertible numbers, because the invertible elements for integers are fractions, but fractions are not integers. For example, for the integer 5, the inverse element is the inverse fraction Inverse fraction to the number 5. This fraction is not an integer. Therefore there is no inverse element in integers for the integer 5. However, for the numbers 1 and −1 there are inverse elements - these are inverse fractions: Inverse fraction to the number 1 and Inverse fraction to the number -1. This fractions are integers. So, the invertible elements for integers 1 and −1 are themselves.
  3. General linear group - is the group of all invertible (nondegenerate) square matrices of size n×n with the matrix multiplication operation.
    This group is called the general linear group and is defined as: The definition of the general linear group. The matrix is called non-degenerate or invertible if its determinant is not equal to 0. The set of all real numbers - in parentheses means that the elements of the matrix X are real numbers. This group will be discussed in more details in the following articles.

Other useful links:

Leave your comment:

Аддитивная и мультипликативная форма записи бинарной операции в группе, примеры

Как правило, наиболее распространёнными формами записи бинарной операции в группе являются аддитивная: + и мультипликативная: •.

Аддитивная запись бинарной операции

Если в группе Обозначение группы бинарная операция бинарная операция в группе является операцией сложения, то данная группа называется аддитивной группой и обозначается Обозначение аддитивной группы.

Примеры аддитивных групп

  1. Любое кольцо или поле является группой относительно операции сложения (определённой в этом кольце). Данная группа называется аддитивной группой кольца или поля соответственно.
    Рассмотрим несколько примеров аддитивных групп:
    • Пример аддитивной группы целых чисел - аддитивная группа кольца целых чисел. Вспомните, что множество целых чисел Множество всех целых чисел является коммутативным ассоциативным кольцом с 1 относительно привычных нам операций сложения и умножения целых чисел.
    • Пример аддитивной группы действительных чисел - аддитивная группа поля действительных чисел. Множество всех действительных чисел Множество всех действительных чисел является полем относительно привычных нам операций сложения и умножения действительных чисел.
    • Пример аддитивной группы комплексных чисел - аддитивная группа поля комплексных чисел. Множество всех комплексных чисел Множество всех комплексных чисел является полем относительно операций сложения и умножения комплексных чисел.
    • Пример аддитивной группы рациональных чисел - аддитивная группа поля рациональных чисел. Множество всех рациональных чисел Множество всех рациональных чисел является полем относительно операций сложения и умножения дробей.
  2. Пример аддитивной группы геометрических векторов в пространстве - аддитивная группа всех геометрических векторов в пространстве.

Мультипликативная запись бинарной операции

Если в группе Обозначение группы бинарная операция бинарная операция в группе является операцией умножения, то данная группа называется мультипликативной группой и обозначается Обозначение мультипликативной группы.

Замечание

Также существуют мультипликативные группы колец или полей. Для рассмотрения примеров таких групп сначала дадим определения некоторых терминов.

Определение обратимого элемента в кольце. Пусть Ассоциативное кольцо с 1 - ассоциативное кольцо с 1, тогда элемент Обратимый элемент ассоциативного кольца с 1 называется обратимым, если существует элемент Обратный элемент b к элементу a такой, что: определение обратимого элемента , причём элемент b = a−1.

Обозначение. Множество всех обратимых элементов кольца Ассоциативное кольцо с 1 обозначается, как Множество всех обратимых элементов кольца.

Следствие. В поле Поле обратимыми элементами являются все элементы, кроме 0. То есть Множество всех обратимых элементов поля.

Примеры мультипликативных групп

  1. Множество всех элементов кроме 0 (нейтрального элемента относительно операции сложения) поля Поле является группой относительно операции умножения (определённой в данном поле). Данная группа называется мультипликативной группой поля и обозначается Мультипликативная группа поля.
    Рассмотрим несколько примеров мультипликативных групп поля:
    • Мультипликативная группа поля действительных чисел - мультипликативная группа поля действительных чисел.
    • Мультипликативная группа поля комплексных чисел - мультипликативная группа поля комплексных чисел.
    • Мультипликативная группа поля рациональных чисел - мультипликативная группа поля рациональных чисел.
  2. Множество всех обратимых элементов ассоциативного кольца с 1 - Ассоциативное кольцо с 1 является группой относительно операции умножения (определённой в этом кольце). Данная группа называется мультипликативной группой кольца и обозначается Мультипликативная группа кольца.
    Рассмотрим несколько примеров мультипликативных групп колец:
    • Мультипликативная группа кольца целых чисел - мультипликативная группа кольца целых чисел. Заметим, что в кольце целых чисел обратимыми числами являются только числа 1 и -1, так как обратимыми элементами для целых чисел являются дроби, а их нет среди целых чисел. Например, для целого числа 5 обратным элементом является обратная дробь Обратная дробь к числу 5. Эта дробь не является целым числом, а значит для целого числа 5 не существует обратного элемента среди целых чисел. Однако для чисел 1 и −1 существуют обратные элементы - обратные дроби: Обратная дробь к числу 1 и Обратная дробь к числу -1. , которые являются целыми числами. Иными словами обратимыми элементами для целых чисел 1 и −1 являются они же сами.
  3. Общая линейная группа - группа всех обратимых (невырожденных) квадратных матриц размера n×n относительно операции умножения матриц.
    Данная группа называется общей линейной группой и согласно определению выглядит следующим образом: Определение общей линейной группы. Напомним, что матрица называется невырожденной или обратимой, если её определитель не равен 0. Множество всех действительных чисел - в круглых скобках означает, что элементами матрицы X являются действительные числа. Более подробно данная группа будет разобрана в следующих статьях.

Другие полезные разделы:

Оставить свой комментарий: