Function differential calculator

The differential of the function is the principal (linear by ) part of function increment. To understand this definition, consider the following figure.

Plot to explain differential definition

The figure shows the graph of the function and its tangent at the point . Let's give the function's argument some increment , then the function will also get some increment . The value is called the differential of the function . From the figure, it follows, that is equal to the increment of the ordinate of the tangent, drawn at the point to the function . This is why the differential is called linear part of the increment of the function, i.e. the increment of the ordinate of the tangent.

From the figure, it follows, that the slope angle of the tangent , which it forms with the positive direction of -axis and are equal. In addition, the tangent slope angle of the tangent is equal to the value of the derivative of the function at the point of tangency:

From triangle, it follows, that

Thus, the differential of the function is expressed by the following formula:

Consider one more point: the figure above shows, that , and . And, the smaller , the smaller the contribution to the value of makes the value of . I.e., for sufficiently small values, we can assume, that . This relationship allows one to calculate the approximate value of the function at point , if its value at the point is known.

A higher-order differential (for instance, the order of ) is defined as the differential from an -th order differential:

For example, the second-order differential is calculated as follows:

Similarly, one can obtain a formula for calculating the -th order differential:

where is the -th derivative of the function with respect to variable.

A few words should be spoken about calculating the differential of the many variables function. In this case the differential is called the total differential and for the function depending on -variables is defined by the formula:

Expressions for higher order differentials of the many variables function can be obtained from the general formula:

Generally, to raise the sum to -th power, one should use Newton's Binomial theorem. Consider the process of obtaining the second order total differential formula of two variables function:

Our online calculator is able to find differentials of different orders for any single or many variables functions with step by step solution.

Function differential calculator
Find 2 order differential of the function:fx,y2x23xyy2


Install calculator on your site

Other useful links:

Leave your comment:

Дифференциал функции онлайн

Дифференциалом функции называется главная (линейная по ) часть приращения функции. Чтобы понять данное определение, рассмотрим следующий рисунок.

График для объяснения понятия дифференциала функции

На рисунке изображён график функции и касательной к ней в точке . Дадим аргументу функции некоторое приращение , тогда функция также получит некоторое приращение . Величина называется дифференциалом функции . При этом, из графика следует, что равно приращению ординаты касательной, проведённой в точке к функции . Именно поэтому дифференциалом называют линейную часть приращения функции, т.е. приращение ординаты касательной.

Из рисунка следует, что угол наклона касательной , который она образует с положительным направлением оси и - равны. Кроме того, тангенс угла наклона касательной равен значению производной функции в точке касания:

Из треугольника следует, что:

Таким образом, дифференциал функции выражается следующей формулой:

Рассмотрим ещё такой момент: из рисунка следует, что , причем . Причем, чем меньше , тем меньший вклад в величину вносит значение . Т.е. при достаточно малых значениях , можно считать, что . Данное соотношение позволяет вычислять приближенное значение функции в точке , если известно её значение в точке .

Дифференциал высшего порядка (например порядка ) определяется как дифференциал от дифференциала -ого порядка:

Например, дифференциал второго порядка вычисляется следующим образом:

Аналогичным образом получаем формулу для вычисления дифференциала -ого порядка:

где - -ая производная функции по переменной .

Пару слов стоит сказать о вычислении дифференциала функции многих переменных, который в этом случае называется полным дифференциалом . Полный дифференциал функции, зависящей от -переменных определяется по формуле:

Выражения для дифференциалов высших порядков функции многих переменных можно получить исходя из общей формулы:

В общем случае, для возведения суммы в -ую степень необходимо воспользоваться формулой бинома Ньютона. Рассмотрим процесс получения формулы полного дифференциала второго порядка функции двух переменных:

Наш онлайн калькулятор способен вычислить дифференциалы разных порядков для любых функций одной или нескольких переменных с описанием подробного решения на русском языке.

Калькулятор дифференциала функции
Найти дифференциал 2 порядка для функции:fx,y2x23xyy2


Установить калькулятор на свой сайт

Другие полезные разделы:

Оставить свой комментарий: